On March 11, 2024, the Friends of Multilateralism Group (FMG) organized an online brainstorming session to discuss about MC13 results. Alejandro Jara, FMG member and former Deputy Director-General of WTO moderated this session.    


At the meeting, Mohan Kumar, FMG member and Chairman of Research and Information System for Developing Countries (RIS); Peter Ungphakorn, FMG member and former Senior Information Officer, WTO Secretariat; Alan Wolff, FMG member and former Deputy Director-General of WTO; Anabel González, Friend of FMG (FFMG) and Vice President of Inter-American Development Bank (IADB) shared their opinions on this topic. Then, the panelists answered the questions from the participants.  


Nearly 80 participants joined the session, including members of FMG, Ambassadors/DPRs of WTO members, Directors of WTO divisions, representatives from related international organizations, and experts from renowned think tanks and universities etc.


Recording of this session can be watched via: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZQAQTyfl7KU&t=3185s.



Annex 1: Slides and Note of Peter Ungphakorn

 Abu Dhabi Ministerial Conference

 Notes for FMG Session Brainstorming on MC13 Abu Dhabi 2024-02-11

Annex 2: Programme



Opening Remarks

Speaker: Xiankun Lu (FMG)



Speaker: Alejandro Jara (FMG)





Moderator: Alejandro Jara (FMG)

14:05- 14:15

Speaker 1: Peter Ungphakorn (FMG)


Speaker 2: Alan Wolff (FMG)

14:25- 14:35

Speaker 3: Mohan Kumar (FMG)


Speaker 4: Anabel González (FFMG)



14:45- 15:30


Moderator: Alejandro Jara (FMG)




Annex 3: List of Confirmed Participants



Xiankun Lu (FMG)

Hilda Al-Hinai (FMG)

Clemens Boonekamp (FMG)

Deborah Elms (FMG)

Jonathan Fried (FMG)

Henry Gao (FMG)

Stuart Harbinson (FMG)

Jennifer Hillman (FMG)

Mohan Kumar (FMG)

Patrick Low (FMG)

Dorotea LÓPEZ (FMG)

Wenhua Ji (FMG)

Alejandro Jara (FMG)


Sherry Stephenson (FMG)

Rajesh Sachse (FMG)

Xinquan Tu (FMG)

Hector Torres (FMG)

Jayashree Watal (FMG)

John Weekes (FMG)

Siqi Li (FMG)

Maxim Medvedkov (FMG)

Janet Macharia (FMG)

Mario Matus (FMG)

Brad McDonald (FMG)

Hamid Mamdouh (FMG)

Victor Do Prado (FMG)

Peter Ungphakorn (FMG)

Colette Van Der Ven (FMG)

John Weekes (FMG)

Alan Wolff (FMG)

Anabel González (FFMG)

Valerie Picard (FFMG)

Niall Meagher (FFMG)

James Zhan (FFMG)


WTO Missions

Austria: Brigitte Luth, Counsellor

Argentine: Josefina BUNGE, DPR

Barbados: Matthew Wilson, Ambassador

Bulgaria: Tsvetelina Dimitrova, Ambassador

Danish: Mads Lunde, DPR

Egypt: Ahmed Ihab GAMALELDIN, Ambassador

EU: João Aguiar Machado, Ambassador

EU: Hiddo Houben, DPR

Finland: Anna Vitie, Minister Counsellor

Korea: Jung Sung PARK, Ambassador

Latvia: Renārs Danelsons, Counsellor

Netherlands: Audrey Goosen, DPR

Norway: Håvard Hugås, DPR

Panama: José Jaén Chi, DPR

The Principality of Liechtenstein: Patrick Ritter, Minister Counsellor

Singapore: Darryl Leong, DPR

South Africa: Mzukisi Qobo, Ambassador

Slovenia: Maruša Baus, Counsellor

Slovak Republic: Judita BRZOBOHATÁ, Ambassador

Türkiye: Bahar Dogan, DPR

Zimbabwe: Constance Zhanje, Minister Plenipotentiary


WTO Secretariat

Werner Zdouc, Director, Knowledge and Information Management, Academic Outreach and WTO Chairs Programme

Gabrielle Marceau, Senior Counsellor for Research on Legal Policy, Economic Research and Statistics Division

Willy Alfaro, Director, Trade Policies Review Division

Kessie Edwini, Director, Agriculture and Commodities Division

Maria Pereyra, Senior Counsellor, Legal Affairs Divison


International Organizations

Adam Jakubik, IMF


Think Tanks

William Reinsch, CSIS

Jeff Schott, PIIE