On 15 March 2022, the Friends of Multilateralism Group (FMG) organized the 3rd session of its “Trade Policy Preview” (TP-P) brainstorming series on Pakistan. Clemens Boonekamp, FMG member and Advisory Board member of the WTO Chairs Programme moderated this session.


Simon Evenett, FMG member and coordinator of Global Trade Alert; Manzoor Ahmad, Former Pakistan’s Ambassador to WTO; and Azam Chaudhry, Professor of Economics at the Lahore School and WTO Chair shared their views on the trade policies of Pakistan. Engr. M. A. Jabbar, Life Member of SAARC Chambers of Commerce and Industry shared his comments.


Over 40 participants including members of FMG, Friends of FMG and Punta del Este Group (PEG), Ambassadors/DPRs of WTO members, and representatives from related international organizations.


FMG has launched the brainstorming initiative titled “Trade Policy Preview” (TP-P) to host a candid and forward-looking dialogue on trade policy trends of key players of the WTO and their implications on the WTO reform discussions. FMG has successfully organized two TP-P sessions on China and Russia in 2021, and plan to organize TP-P sessions for Pakistan, Ghana, Mexico, US, South Africa, Brazil and Kazakhstan in 2022.


Recording of this session can be watched via: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p6FRUqi_fNg


Annex 1: Program


Opening Remarks

Speaker: Xiankun Lu (FMG)



Speaker: Clemens Boonekamp (FMG)



Moderator: Clemens Boonekamp (FMG)

15:10-15:20 Speaker 1: Simon Evenett (FMG)

Speaker 2: Manzoor Ahmad (Former Pakistan’s Ambassador to WTO)


15:35-15:50 Speaker 3: Azam Chaudhry (Professor of Economics at the Lahore School, WTO Chair)
15:50-15:58 Discussant: Engr. M. A. Jabbar (Life Member of SAARC Chambers of Commerce and Industry)
15:50-16:30 Discussions
  Moderator: Clemens Boonekamp (FMG)


Annex 2: List of confirmed participants


Axel Addy (FMG)

Mercedes Araoz (FMG)

Clemens Boonekamp (FMG)

Daniel Crosby (FMG)

Simon Evenett (FMG)

Alejandro Jara (FMG)

Xiankun Lu (FMG)

Mario Matus (FMG)

Mia Mikic (FMG)

Peter Ungphakorn (FMG)

Brad McDonald (FFMG)


2.WTO Missions

Egypt: Ahmed Ihab Gamaleldin, Ambassador

Mexico: Ángel Villalobos, Ambassador

Germany: Bettina Waldmann, Ambassador

Thailand: Pimchanok Pitfield, Ambassador

Mexico: Ismael Ortiz, DPR

Switzerland: Sonja Hürlimann, DPR


3.WTO Secretariat

Willy Alfaro, Director, Trade Policies Review Division

Robert Koopman, Director, Economic Research and Statistics Division

Werner Zdouc, Director, Knowledge and Information Management, Academic Outreach and WTO Chairs Programme

Gabrielle Marceau, Counsellor for Research on Legal Policy, Economic Research and Statistics Division


4.Internatioal Orgnizations

Ahmad Mukhtar, FAO

Gonzalo J. Varela, World Bank



Xiaozhun Yi, UIBE



Salamat Ali, Commonwealth Secretariat

Aisha Moriani, Ministry of Commerce, Pakistan

Sarah Javaid, PRIME Institute