On November 4, 2022, the Friends of Multilateralism Group (FMG) organized the 5th session of its “Trade Policy Preview” (TP-P) brainstorming series on Brazil. Clemens Boonekamp, FMG member and former Director of Trade Policies Review Division of the WTO moderated this session.


Simon Evenett, FMG member and coordinator of Global Trade Alert; Tatiana Prazeres, FMG member and Head Director of the Department of Trade and Foreign Affairs at the Federation of the Industries of the State of São Paulo (FIESP) in Brazil; and Vera Thorstensen, WTO Chair in Brazil shared their views on the trade policies of Brazil and answered the questions from the audience.


More than 30 participants joined the brainstorming, including members of FMG, Ambassadors/DPRs of WTO members, Directors of WTO divisions, representatives from related international organizations, and experts from renowned think tanks and universities etc.


FMG has launched the brainstorming initiative titled “Trade Policy Preview” (TP-P) to host a candid and forward-looking dialogue on trade policy trends of key players of the WTO and their implications on the WTO reform discussions. FMG has successfully organized four TP-P sessions on China, Russia, Pakistan and Mexico, and plan to organize TP-P sessions for US in the following months in 2022.


Recording of this session can be watched via: https://youtu.be/6dGtGzSppE8


Annex 1: Program



Opening Remarks

Speaker: Xiankun Lu (FMG)



Speaker: Clemens Boonekamp (FMG)



Moderator: Clemens Boonekamp (FMG)

16:04- 16:19 Speaker 1: Simon Evenett (FMG)
16:19- 16:34 Speaker 2: Tatiana Prazeres (FMG)
16:34- 16:49 Speaker 3: Vera Thorstensen (WTO Chair in Brazil)
16:49- 17:30


Moderator: Clemens Boonekamp (FMG)



Annex 2: List of confirmed participants



Mercedes Araoz (FMG)

Clemens Boonekamp (FMG)

Simon Evenett (FMG)

Jonathan T. Fried (FMG)

Stuart Harbinson (FMG)

Hamid Mamdouh (FMG)

Xiankun Lu (FMG)

Fernando De Mateo (FMG)

Tatiana Prazeres (FMG)

Victor Do Prodo (FMG)

Sherry Stephenson (FMG)


2.WTO Missions

Uganda: Marcel R. Tibaleka, Ambassador

Timor-Leste: Lurdes Bessa, Ambassador

Egypt: Ahmed Ihab Gamaleldin, Ambassador

Vanuatu: Sumbue ANTAS, Ambassador

Mauritius: Usha Dwarka-Canabady, Ambassador

Chile: Olivia COOK, DPR


Uruguay: Martín ALVEZ, Minister Counsellor

Brazil: Hélio Silva Filho, Counsellor

France: Pierre-Louis GUILLOU, Counsellor

EU: Hene LEHT-BLIGHT, Trade Officer

Pakistan: Haja RANAIVO, Trade Development Officer

Pakistan: Owais Hussain, Legal Affairs Officer

Netherlands: Commerijn Plomp, First Secretary

UK: Celia CARR, First Secretary

Brazil: Riane Laís Tarnovski, Secretary


3.WTO Secretariat

Maika Oshikawa, Director, Development Division

Willy Alfaro, Director, Trade Policies Review Division

Werner Zdouc, Director, Knowledge and Information Management, Academic Outreach and WTO Chairs Programme


4.International Organizations

Yuvan Beejadhur, World Bank


5.Think Thanks

Peter Van den Bossche, WTI