On July 1, the Friends of Multilateralism Group (FMG) organized an online brainstorming session titled “MC12 and Beyond” to review the outcomes of MC12, the opportunities and challenges ahead, and the way forward. Mia Mikic, FMG Board member and Advisor at Large for the Asia-Pacific Research and Training Network on Trade (ARTNeT) moderated this session.


Alan Wolff, FMG member and former DDG of WTO shared his thoughts on General evaluation of MC12 and the way forward. Cecilia Malmström, FMG member and non resident fellow at the Peterson Institute for International Economics in Washington DC talked about MC12 outcomes on  TRIPS waiver. Hamid Mamdouh, FMG member and Former Director of Trade in Services and Investment Division of the WTO spoke about MC12 outcomes on WTO reform. Victor Do Prado, FMG member and former Director of Council and Trade Negotiations Committee at the WTO shared his comments about the green room process and leadership during MC12. And Xiankun Lu, CEO of FMG shared his insights on MC12 outcomes on fishery subsidies.


Over 50 participants joined the brainstorming, including members of FMG, Friends of FMG and Punta del Este Group (PEG), Ambassadors/DPRs of WTO members, representatives from related international organization and think tanks, and experts from renowned universities.


Recording of this session can be watched via: https://youtu.be/NWy5Xk5uOC0


Annex 1: Programme


Opening Remarks

Speaker: Xiankun LU (FMG)





Moderator: Mia Mikic (FMG)

13:03 – 13:11

Speaker 1: Alan Wolff (FMG, General evaluation of MC12 and the way forward)

13:11 – 13:19

Speaker 2: Cecilia Malmström (FMG, on TRIPS)

13:19 – 13:27

Speaker 3: Hamid Mamdouh (FMG, on WTO reform)

13:27 – 13:35

Speaker 4: Victor Do Prado (FMG, on process and leadership)

13:35 – 13:43

Speaker 5: Xiankun Lu (FMG, on fisheries)



13:43- 15:00


Moderator: Mia Mikic (FMG)




Annex 2: List of confirmed participants



Axel Addy (FMG)

Mercedes Araoz (FMG)

Peter Draper (FMG)

Jonathan T. Fried (FMG)

Bernard Hoekman (FMG)

Eunice Huang (FMG)

Xiankun Lu (FMG)

Hamid Mamdouh (FMG)

Cecilia Malmstrom (FMG)

Mia Mikic (FMG)

Mario Matus (FMG)

Victor Do Prado (FMG)

Hector Torres (FMG)

Alan Wolff (FMG)

Xinquan Tu (FMG)

Jayashree Watal (FMG)

John M Weekes (FMG)

Brad McDonald (FFMG)


2. WTO Missions

Brunei: Mazlizah PENGIRAN MAHALEE, Ambassador

Uruguay, José Luis Cancela, Ambassador

Russian Federation: Dmitry Lyakishev, Ambassador

Sweden:  Mikael ANZÉN, Ambassador

Thailand: Pimchanok Pitfield, Ambassador

China: Yihong Li, DPR

The Netherlands: Marcel Vernooij, DPR

New Zealand: Alison Hamilton, DPR

Argentina: Josefina Bunge, DPR

Egypt: Ahmed Maghawry Diab, Minister Plenipotentiary

Finland: Anna VITIE, DPR


3.WTO Secretariat

Anabel Gonzalez, Deputy Director-General

Gabrielle Marceau, Counsellor for Research on Legal Policy, Economic Research and Statistics Division

Maria Pereyra, Senior Counsellor, Legal Affairs Division, WTO


4. International Organizations

Aditi Sara Verghese, WEF

Yuvan Beejadhur, World Bank


5. Think Tanks

Chad Bown, PIIE

William Reinsch, CSIS

Peter Van den Bossche, WTI


6. Universities

Henry Gao, Singapore Management University