On 9th February 2022, the Friends of Multilateralism Group (FMG) organized an online brainstorming session titled “A missed opportunity – What happened to multilateral negotiations on trade in services, and where can they go next?”. Stuart Harbinson, FMG Board member and former Ambassador of the HK Special Administrative Region of China at the WTO moderated this session.


Patrick Low, Co-Chair of FMG Board and former Chief Economist of the WTO gave a scene-setting speech. Pimchanok Vonkorpon Pitfield, Ambassador of Thailand to the WTO; Carlos Grau Tanner, Director General of the Global Express Association; and Jane Drake-Brockman, Formerly Industry Professor at the Institute for International Trade of the University of Adelaide shared their insights on the importance of trade in services, WTO’s role in promoting trade in services etc. Hamid Mamdouh, FMG member and Senior Counsel at King & Spalding LLP (Geneva office) shared his comments as discussant.


Over 70 participants joined the brainstorming, including members of FMG, Friends of FMG and Punta del Este Group (PEG), Ambassadors/DPRs of WTO members, Directors of WTO Divisions, and representatives from related international organizations.


Recording of this session can be watched via: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=6snN3rIUlhw


Annex 1: Programme of this session


Opening Remarks

Speaker: Xiankun Lu (FMG)


Scene Setting: Importance of trade in services

Speaker: Patrick Low (FMG)



Moderator: Stuart Harbinson (FMG)

11:10-11:20 Speaker 1: Pimchanok Vonkorpon Pitfield (Ambassador of Thailand to the WTO)
11:20-11:30 Speaker 2: Carlos Grau Tanner (DG, Global Express Association)
11:30-11:40 Speaker 3: Jane Drake-Brockman (Australian Services Roundtable)
11:40-11:50 Discussant: Hamid Mamdouh (FMG)
11:50-12:30 Discussions
Moderator: Stuart Harbinson (FMG)


Annex 2: List of confirmed participants



Axel Addy (FMG)

Mercedes Araoz (FMG)

Clemens Boonekamp (FMG)

Simon Evenett (FMG)

Deborah Elms (FMG)

Stuart Harbinson (FMG)

Eunice Huang (FMG)

Jonathan Fried (FMG)

Patrick Low (FMG)

Xiankun Lu (FMG)

Hamid Mamdouh (FMG)

Mario Matus (FMG)

Sherry Stephenson (FMG)

Xinquan Tu (FMG)

Alan Wolff (FMG)

Brad McDonald (FFMG)

Hajo Lanz (FFMG)

Crispin Conroy (FFMG)


II.WTO Missions

Cambodia: Kemvichet Long, Ambassador

Cameroon: S.E.M. Salomon Eheth, Ambassador

Mexico: Ángel Villalobos, Ambassador

Singapore: Tan Hung Seng, Ambassador

Sweden: Mikael Anzén, Ambassador

Thailand: Pimchanok Pitfield, Ambassador

Cyprus: Andrea Petranyi, DPR

Ethiopia: Mahlet Hailu, DPR

Fiji: Anare Leweniqila, DPR

Germany: Alexandru Zegrea, DPR

Guatemala: Marco Tulio Molina, DPR

India: P.S. Gangadhar, DPR

Maldives: Hawla Ahmed Didi, DPR

The Netherlands: Marcel Vernooij, DPR


III.WTO Secretariat

Anabel Gonzalez, Deputy Director-General

Robert Koopman, Director, Economic Research and Statistics Division

Werner Zdouc, Director, Knowledge and Information Management, Academic Outreach and WTO Chairs Programme

Lim Aik Hoe, Director, Trade and Environment Division

Gabrielle Marceau, Counsellor for Research on Legal Policy, Economic Research and Statistics Division


IV.Internatioal Orgnizations

Damien Bruckard, ICC

Ahmad Mukhtar, FAO

Julia Nielson, OECD

Pierre Sauve, World Bank


V.Think Tanks

Hosuk Lee-Makiyama, ECIPE

Stefan Tangermann, New Pathways



Henry Gao, Singapore Management University

Dmitry Grozoubinski, HEI Geneva

Andre Sapir, Columbia University