On 17 November 2022, the Friends of Multilateralism Group (FMG) has organized an online brainstorming session titled “Integration of MSMEs within the MTS”. Patrick Low, Co-Chair of FMG and former Chief Economist of the WTO moderated this session.


José Luís Cancela, Ambassador of Uruguay to the WTO and Coordinator of the WTO Informal Working Group on MSMEs; Kathryn Lundquist, economic affairs officer in the Economic Research and Statistics Division of the WTO; and Valentina Rollo, Economist in the Office of the Chief Economist at the International Trade Centre (ITC) shared their insightful views on the importance of MSMEs, the difficulties they face, and how international cooperation can be strengthened to better support them to integrate into global value chains.


Nearly 30 participants joined the brainstorming, including members of FMG, Ambassadors/DPRs of WTO members, Directors of WTO divisions, representatives from related international organizations, and experts from renowned think tanks and universities etc.


Recording of this session could be watched via: https://youtu.be/ulm5tcGudjY. And the slides the speakers shared are listed below:


Annex 1: presentation made by Amb José Luís Cancela

1. Trade4MSMEs – Amb Cancelas presentation

Annex 2: presentation made by Kathryn Lundquist

2. Lundquist presentation – 2022 WTO MSME Group Research Notes

Annex 3:presentation made by Valentina Rollo

3. SMECO 2022 FMG presentation_final


Annex 4: Program of this session


Opening Remarks

Speaker: Xiankun Lu (FMG)



Speaker:  Patrick Low (FMG)



Moderator: Patrick Low (FMG)

15:05- 15:15 Speaker 1: José Luís Cancela (Coordinator of the WTO Informal Working Group on MSMEs, Uruguay Ambassador)
15:15- 15:25 Speaker 2: Kathryn Lundquist (WTO)
15:25-15:35 Speaker 3: Valentina Rollo (ITC)
15:35- 16:30


Moderator: Patrick Low (FMG)



Annex 5: List of Confirmed Participants


Jonathan T. Fried (FMG)

Sherry Stephenson (FMG)

Stuart Harbinson (FMG)

Patrick Low (FMG)

Xiankun Lu (FMG)

Victor Do Prodo (FMG)


2.WTO Missions

Niger: Laouali LABO, Ambassador

Norway: Petter Ølberg, Ambassador

Hong Kong, China: Drew LAI, DPR

Netherlands: Marcel VERNOOIJ, DPR


China: LI Yihong, DPR

Nepal: Buddhi Prasad UPADHYAYA, DPR

Mexico: Alicia GOUJON, Counsellor

EU: Diane Lacoste, Counsellor

Dominican Republic: Wendy Goico CAMPAGNA, Counsellor

Spain: Aize AZQUETA QUEMADA, Trade Attaché

Singapore: LOH Jia Jie, First Secretary

Egypt: Sherif RABIE, First Secretary

Switzerland: Laura GAUER, First Secretary


3.WTO Secretariat

Gabrielle Marceau, Counsellor for Research on Legal Policy, Economic Research and Statistics Division

Emmanuelle Ganne, Senior Analyst in the Economic Research and Statistics Division


4.International Organizations

Yuvan Beejadhur, World Bank

Aditi Sara Verghese, WEF


5.Think Thanks

Hosuk Lee-Makiyama, ECIPE

Peter Van den Bossche, WTI