On July 8th 2021, the Friends of Multilateralism Group (FMG) has organized an online brainstorming on the recent paper New Pathways for Progress in Multilateral Trade Negotiations in Agriculture by Pathways Group.


Carmel Cahill, member of Pathways Group and former Deputy Director for Trade and Agriculture at the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD); Stefan Tangermann, member of Pathways Group and former Director for Trade and Agriculture (OECD) presented the proposal to the audience. Professor Alan Matthews at Trinity College Dublin shared his comments as discussant.


Over 20 participants joined the brainstorming, including members of FMG, Friends of FMG (FFMG) and Punta del Este Group (PEG), Ambassadors and DPRs of WTO members, and Directors of WTO Divisions.


Recording of this session can be found via: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hKk_3CPrEnk


Annex 1: Programme


Opening Remarks

Xiankun LU (FMG)





Moderator: Clemens Boonekamp (FMG)


Carmel Cahill (New Pathways)


Stefan Tangermann (New Pathways)


Alan Matthews (Trinity College, Dublin)





Moderator: Clemens Boonekamp (FMG)




Annex 2:

Confirmed Participants


1.FMG/FFMG/PEG members

Clemens Boonekamp (FMG, moderator)

Mario Matus (FMG/PEG)

Xiankun Lu (FMG)

Guillermo Valles Galmes (FMG/PEG)

Mia Mikic (FMG)

Alan Wolff (FMG)

Stuart Harbinson (FMG)

Jonathan Fried (FMG)

Hamid Mamdouh (FMG)

Hajo Lanz (FFMG)

Andreas Esche (FFMG)


2.WTO Missions

Russia: Dmitry LYAKISHEV, Ambassador

Singapore: TAN Hung Seng, Ambassador

Mexico: Ángel VILLALOBOS RODRÍGUEZ, Ambassador

Netherlands: Marcel VERNOOIJ, DPR


Argentina: Josefina BUNGE, DPR


China: LI Yihong, DPR

Singapore: Darryl LEONG, DPR

Australia: Rebecca Barton, Counsellor

EU: Flavio Coturni, Head of Agriculture, Food and Sanitary and Phytosanitary Matters

UK: Fabian Seshadri, Agriculture Counsellor


3.WTO Divisions

Edwini Kessie (Director, Agriculture and Commodities Division)

Maika Oshikawa (Director, Accessions Division)


4.Other Stakeholders

Carmel Cahill (Pathways, speaker)

Stefan Tangermann (Pathways, speaker)

Alan Matthews (Trinity College, Dublin, discussant)

Pierre Sauve (World Bank)