On October 21, 2022, the Friends of Multilateralism Group (FMG) organized an online brainstorming session to discuss Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures. Bernard Hoekman, FMG member and Professor at European University Institute moderated this session.


Christiane Wolff, the Secretary of the SPS Committee and Head of the Secretariat’s SPS Section; Robert Wolfe, Professor at the School of Policy Studies, Queen’s University shared their insights on how the SPS Declaration and the follow-up could provide new ideas to strengthen WTO regular bodies as part of the broader WTO reform, followed by discussions among participants.


Over 30 participants joined the brainstorming, including members of FMG, Ambassadors/DPRs of WTO members, Directors of WTO divisions, representatives from related international organizations, and experts from renowned think tanks and universities etc.


Recording of this session can be watched via: https://youtu.be/sTTSgqZUqSQ


Annex 1: Robert Wolfe FMG Presentation 221021


Annex 2: Program



Opening Remarks

Speaker: Xiankun Lu (FMG)



Speaker:  Bernard Hoekman (FMG)



Moderator: Bernard Hoekman (FMG)

14:05- 14:20 Speaker 1: Christiane Wolff (the Secretariat of WTO)
14:20- 14:35 Speaker 2: Robert Wolfe (Queen’s University)
14:35- 15:30


Moderator: Bernard Hoekman (FMG)



Annex 3: List of confirmed participants



Mercedes Araoz (FMG)

Clemens Boonekamp (FMG)

Jonathan T. Fried (FMG)

Stuart Harbinson (FMG)

Hamid Mamdouh (FMG)

Xiankun Lu (FMG)

Cecilia Malmstrom (FMG)

Mario Matus (FMG)

Mia Mikic (FMG)

Victor Do Prado (FMG)

Hector Torres (FMG)

John Weekes (FMG)

Xinquan Tu (FMG)


2.WTO Missions

Egypt: Ahmed Ihab GAMALELDIN, Ambassador

Argentina: Federico VILLEGAS, Ambassador

Uganda: Marcel R. TIBALEKA, Ambassador

Netherlands: Marcel VERNOOIJ, DPR

Nepal: Buddhi Prasad UPADHYAYA, DPR

Egypt: Ahmed DIAB, Minister Plenipotentiary

EU: Americo Beviglia Zampetti, Minister Counsellor

El Salvador: Alejandra CASTANEDA, Counsellor

Pakistan: Fahad RAZA, Counsellor

Switzerland: Daniel Zulauf, Counsellor

Argentina: Cecilia Risolo, Counsellor

Russian Federation: Oleg SAVELEV, First Secretary

New Zealand: Bing-Ying LOU, First Secretary

Italy:  Andrea GIANVENUTI, Trade Attache

Czech Republic: Vladimira KANTOROVA, Attache

Philippines: Marlito C. Cabuños, Attache


3.WTO Secretariat

Werner Zdouc, Director, Knowledge and Information Management, Academic Outreach and WTO Chairs Programme

Maria Pereyra, Senior Counsellor, Legal Affairs Division, WTO


4.International Organizations

Yuvan Beejadhur, World Bank


5. Think Thanks

Peter Van den Bossche, WTI