On October 18, 2023, the Friends of Multilateralism Group (FMG) organized an online brainstorming session to discuss about the Investment Facilitation for Development (IFD) and its integration into the MTS. Petros Mavroidis, FMG member and Professor of Columbia Law School moderated this session.    


At the meeting, Hamid Mamdouh, FMG member and former Director of Trade in Services and Investment Division of the WTO spoke at this session. Didier Chambovey, former Ambassador of Switzerland to WTO, and Xiankun Lu, CEO of FMG shared their comments. Then, the panelists answered the questions from the participants.   


Nearly 50 participants joined the session, including members of FMG, Ambassadors/DPRs of WTO members, Directors of WTO divisions, representatives from related international organizations, and experts from renowned think tanks and universities etc.


On October 13,IFD participants agreed to pursue the plurilateral pathway to seek the incorporation of the IFD Agreement into the WTO rulebook under Annex 4 on Plurilateral Trade Agreements as established in Article X.9 of the WTO Agreement. Please see the link of this news on WTO website:  



Recording of this session can be watched via:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OLXGiIhyJWE.



Annex 1: Programme



Opening Remarks

Speaker: Xiankun Lu (FMG)



Speaker: Petros C. Mavroidis (FMG)





Moderator: Petros C. Mavroidis (FMG)  

14:05- 14:20

Speaker 1: Hamid Mamdouh (FMG)


Discussant 1: Ambassador Didier Chambovey

14:28- 14:36

Discussant 2: Xiankun Lu (FMG)



14:36- 15:30


Moderator: Petros C. Mavroidis (FMG)  


Annex 2: List of Confirmed Participants



Xiankun Lu (FMG)

Mercedes Araoz (FMG)

Clemens Boonekamp (FMG)

Henry Gao (FMG)

Stuart Harbinson (FMG)

Alejandra Jara (FMG)

Siqi Li (FMG)

Patrick Low (FMG)

Hamid Mamdouh (FMG)

Brad McDonald (FMG)


Sherry Stephenson (FMG)

Peter Ungphakorn (FMG)

Alan Wolff (FMG)


WTO Missions

Austria, Brigitte LÜTH, Counsellor

Brazil: Eduado Kosmiskas, Counsellor

Canada: Nadia Theodore, Ambassador

Canada: Isabella Price, First Secretary

The Czech Republic: Martin Točík, DPR

The Czech Republic: Petr Fiala, Third Secretary

EU: Aguiar Machado, Ambassador

EU: Hene LEHT, Trade Officer

Hong Kong, China: Anna Wing Sum LEUNG, Trade Attaché

Korea: Jung Sung PARK, Ambassador

Mongolia: Dashnyam ENKHTAIVAN, DPR

Netherlands: Heine Lageveen, Policy Officer

Pakistan: Ali Hussain, Ambassador

Russian Federation: Dmitry LYAKISHEV, Ambassador

Spain: Antonio del Pino Rodríguez, Trade Counsellor


WTO Secretariat

Willy Alfaro, Director, Trade Policies Review Division

Werner Zdouc, Director, Knowledge and Information Management, Academic Outreach and WTO Chairs Programme

Gabrielle Marceau, Senior Counsellor for Research on Legal Policy, Economic Research and Statistics Division


International Organizations

Pierre Sauve, World Bank

Picard Valerie, ICC

Oliver Exton, IMF


Think Thanks

Hosuk Lee-Makiyama, ECIPE



Peter Van den Bossche, WTI