On 11th October 2021, the Friends of Multilateralism Group (FMG) organized an online brainstorming session on Russian Trade Policy. Mia Mikic, FMG Board member and Adviser at Large for the Asia-Pacific Research and Training Network on Trade (ARTNeT) moderated this meeting.


Professor Maxim Medvedkov, Counselor at Moscow-based Center on WTO expertise and professor of the University Higher School of Economics; and Johan Vanderplaetse, President for Russia and CIS, Schneider Electric shared their insights on the trade policy of Russia and the MC 12 of the WTO. Péter Balás, former Deputy Director-General at the Directorate-General for Trade at the European Commission shared his comments as discussant.


Almost 40 participants joined the brainstorming, including members of FMG, Friends of FMG and Punta del Este Group (PEG), Ambassadors/DPRs of WTO members, and representatives from related international organizations.


This brainstorming is the second session of FMG brainstorming initiative titled “Trade Policy Preview” (TP-P) which aims at hosting a candid and forward-looking dialogue on trade policy trends of key players of the WTO and their implications on the WTO reform discussions. Such TP-Ps will be organized in conjunction with the planned WTO trade policy reviews (TPRs) of the selected members but a few months in advance.


Recording of this session can be viewed via: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eQFk4oRaw-Y

Annex 1: Programme of this session


Opening Remarks

Speaker: Mia Mikic (FMG)



Moderator: Mia Mikic (FMG)

15:05-15:20 Speaker: Maxim Medvedkov
15:20-15:35 Speaker: Johan Vanderplaetse
15:35-15:45 Discussant: Peter Balas


Moderator:  Mia Mikic (FMG)


Annex 2: List of confirmed participants

Confirmed Participants

 1.FMG/FFMG/PEG members

Mercedes Araoz, FMG

Clemens Boonekamp, FMG

Daniel Crosby, FMG

Alejandro Jara, FMG

Patrick Low, FMG

Xiankun Lu, FMG

Hamid Mamdouh, FMG

Mia Mikic, FMG (moderator)

Hector R Torres, FMG

Alan Wolff, FMG

Andreas Esche, FFMG


2.WTO Missions

Brazil: Alexandre Parola, Ambassador

Russia: Dmitry Lyakishev, Ambassador

The Netherlands: Marcel Vernooij, DPR


3.WTO Secretariat

Willy Alfaro, Director, Trade Policies Review Division

Priyadarshi Shishir, Director, Development Division

Maika Oshikawa, Director, Accessions Division


4.International Organisations

Brad McDonald, IMF

Peter Van den Bossche, WTI

Ahmad Mukhtar, FAO