On February 21 2023, the Friends of Multilateralism Group (FMG) organized the 7th session of its “Trade Policy Preview” (TP-P) brainstorming series on Japan. Xiankun LU, CEO of FMG moderated this session.


Simon Evenett, FMG member and coordinator of Global Trade Alert; Michitaka NAKATOMI, FMG member and Special Advisor to Japan External Trade Organization (JETRO) shared their views on the trade policies of Japan. Masamichi Kono, Senior Advisor of MUFG Bank and a Member of the Global Advisory Board of Mitsubishi UFJ Financial Group (MUFG) shared his comments.


More than 30 participants joined the brainstorming, including members of FMG, Ambassadors/DPRs of WTO members, Directors of WTO divisions, representatives from related international organizations, and experts from renowned think tanks and universities etc.


FMG has launched the brainstorming initiative titled “Trade Policy Preview” (TP-P) to host a candid and forward-looking dialogue on trade policy trends of key players of the WTO and their implications on the WTO reform discussions. FMG has successfully organized seven TP-P sessions on China, Russia, Pakistan and Mexico, Brazil, U.S.A, and Japan, and plan to organize TP-P sessions for EU, Turkey, SACU and Chile in 2023.


Recording of this session can be watched via: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dTwVqbpWeHM. And the slides and notes the speakers shared are included in the attachments below.


Annex 1: Simon Evenett Japan Presentation FMG session February 2023


Annex 2: 220217 Nakatomi PPT TP-P


Annex 3: Masamichi Kono Discussion note Pre-TPR Japan


Annex 4: Program


Opening Remarks

Speaker: Xiankun Lu (FMG)



Speaker: Clemens Boonekamp (FMG)



Moderator: Clemens Boonekamp (FMG)

14:04-14:19 Speaker 1: Simon Evenett (FMG)
14:19-14:34 Speaker 2: Michitaka Nakatomi (FMG)
14:34-14:49 Discussant: Masamichi Kono (MUFG Bank, IFRS)


Moderator: Clemens Boonekamp (FMG)


Annex 5: List of Confirmed Participants



Xiankun Lu (FMG)

Mercedes Araoz (FMG)

Clemens Boonekamp (FMG)

Simon Evenett (FMG)

Alejandro Jara (FMG)

Hamid Mamdouh (FMG)

Michitaka Nakatomi (FMG)

John M Weekes (FMG)

Brad McDonald (FFMG)


2)  WTO Missions

Djibouti: Kadra AHMED HASSAN, Ambassador

Egypt:  Ahmed Ihab GAMALELDIN, Ambassador

New Zealand: Clare KELLY, Ambassador

Tanzania: Maimuna KTARISHI, Ambassador

Uganda: Marcel R. Tibaleka, Ambassador

Vanuatu: Sumbue ANTAS, Ambassador

Costa Rica: Jaime COGHI, DPR

Norway: Benedicte FLEISCHER, DPR

Egypt: Ahmed DIAB, Minister Plenipotentiary

Zimbabwe: Constance ZHANJE, Minister Plenipotentiary


3) WTO Secretariat

Maika Oshikawa, Director, Development Division

Willy Alfaro, Director, Trade Policies Review Division

Werner Zdouc, Director, Knowledge and Information Management,

Academic Outreach and WTO Chairs Programme


 4) International Organizations

Yuvan Beejadhur, World Bank


 5)  Think Tanks

William Reinsch, CSIS


6) Other Stakeholders

Masamichi Kono, MUFG Bank