On Sept. 22nd 2022, the Friends of Multilateralism Group (FMG) organized the 4th session of its “Trade Policy Preview” (TP-P) brainstorming series on Mexico. Clemens Boonekamp, FMG member and former Director of Trade Policies Review Division of the WTO moderated this session.


Simon Evenett, FMG member and coordinator of Global Trade Alert; Fernando de Mateo, former Ambassador of Mexico to the WTO; and Bradley Condon, WTO Chair in Mexico shared their views on the trade policies of Mexico and answered the questions from the audience.


Nearly 30 participants including members of FMG, Friends of FMG and Punta del Este Group (PEG), Ambassadors/DPRs of WTO members, and representatives from related international organizations and think tanks.


FMG has launched the brainstorming initiative titled “Trade Policy Preview” (TP-P) to host a candid and forward-looking dialogue on trade policy trends of key players of the WTO and their implications on the WTO reform discussions. FMG has successfully organized three TP-P sessions on China, Russia and Pakistan, and plan to organize TP-P sessions for US, and Brazil in the following months in 2022.


Recording of this session can be watched via: https://youtu.be/AR8EhXU–Q8. And the slides the speakers presented at this session are attached below.


Annex 1: Simon Evenett Mexico FMG presentation 220922


Annex 2: Fernando De Mateo FMG presentaion 220922


Annex 3: Programme


Opening Remarks

Speaker: Xiankun Lu (FMG)



Speaker: Clemens Boonekamp (FMG)



Moderator: Clemens Boonekamp (FMG)

15:04-15:16 Speaker 1: Simon Evenett (FMG)
15:16-15:28 Speaker 2: Fernando de Mateo (Former Ambassador of Mexico to the WTO)
15:28-15:40 Speaker 3: Bradley Condon (WTO Chair in Mexico)


Moderator: Clemens Boonekamp (FMG)


Annex 4: List of confirmed participants



Clemens Boonekamp (FMG)

Mercedes Araoz (FMG)

Simon Evenett (FMG)

Jonathan T. Fried (FMG)

Xiankun Lu (FMG)

Mia Mikic (FMG)

Victor Do Prado (FMG)

Jayashree Watal (FMG)

John Weekes (FMG)


2.WTO Missions

Vanuatu: Sumbue Antas, Ambassador

Malawi: Pacharo Kayira, DPR

Nepal: Buddhi Prasad Upadhyaya, DPR


3.WTO Secretariat

Willy Alfaro, Director, Trade Policies Review Division

Werner Zdouc, Director, Knowledge and Information Management, Academic Outreach and WTO Chairs Programme


4.International Organizations

Yuvan Beejadhur, World Bank


5.Think Tanks

Hosuk Lee-Makiyama, ECIPE

Peter Van den Bossche, WTI



Henry Gao, Singapore Management University

Xiaozhun Yi, NITIS