On December 5, 2022, the Friends of Multilateralism Group (FMG) organized the 6th session of its “Trade Policy Preview” (TP-P) brainstorming series on U.S.A. Xiankun Lu, Founder and CEO of FMG moderated this session.


Simon Evenett, FMG member and coordinator of Global Trade Alert; Jennifer Hillman, Senior Fellow at the Council on Foreign Relations and Professor at the Georgetown University Law Center shared their insights on the trade policies of U.S.A. and answered the questions from the audience. Jonathan Fried, FMG member and Former Canada’s Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the WTO shared his perspectives as discussant. Fernando De Mateo, FMG member and former Ambassador of Mexico, and Amrita Bahri, Co-Chair for Mexico of the WTO Chair Program also made their comments.


Nearly 50 participants joined the brainstorming, including members of FMG, Ambassadors/DPRs of WTO members, Directors of WTO divisions, representatives from related international organizations, and experts from renowned think tanks and universities etc.


Since 2021, FMG has launched the brainstorming initiative titled “Trade Policy Preview” (TP-P) to host a candid and forward-looking dialogue on trade policy trends of key players of the WTO and their implications on the WTO reform discussions. FMG has successfully organized five TP-P sessions on China, Russia, Pakistan, Mexico and Brazil.


Recording of this session can be watched via:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z_B1JrIDvkk. And the slides the speakers shared are included in the attachments below.


There have been some technical problems during the live stream of this session. We apologize for any inconvenience occured.


Annex 1: Simon Evenett FMG Presentation 221205

 1. Simon_US TPR WTO Presentation FMG 5 December 2022

Annex 2: Jennifer Hillman FMG Presentation 221205

2. Hillman FMG TP-P 2022

Annex 3: Jonathan Fried FMG Presentation 221205

 3. Jonathan FMG December 5 2022

Annex 4: Program



Opening Remarks

Speaker: Xiankun Lu (FMG)



Speaker: Xiankun Lu (FMG)



Moderator: Xiankun Lu (FMG)

15:04- 15:19 Speaker 1: Simon Evenett (FMG)
15:19- 15:34 Speaker 2: Jennifer Hillman (Georgetown University)
15:34- 15:49 Discussant: Jonathan Fried (FMG)
15:49-15:55 Commentators: Fernando De Mateo (FMG), Amrita Bahri (Co-Chair for Mexico)
15:55- 16:30


Moderator: Xiankun Lu (FMG)



Annex 5: List of confirmed participants



Axel Addy (FMG)

Mercedes Araoz (FMG)

Clemens Boonekamp (FMG)

Simon Evenett (FMG)

Deborah Elms (FMG)

Jonathan T. Fried (FMG)

Alejandro Jara (FMG)

Xiankun Lu (FMG)

Hamid Mamdouh (FMG)

Cecilia Malmstrom (FMG)

Fernando De Mateo (FMG)

Mia Mikic (FMG)

Victor Do Prado (FMG)

John M Weekes (FMG)

Alan Wolff (FMG)

Brad McDonald (FFMG)

Sean Doherty (FFMG)

Anabel González (FFMG)


2.WTO Missions

Canada:  Nadia THEODORE, Ambassador

Malaysia: Syahril Syazli GHAZALI, Ambassador

New Zealand: Clare KELLY, Ambassador

Djibouti: KADRA AHMED HASSAN, Ambassador

Norway: Petter ØLBERG, Ambassador


China: Li Yihong, DPR

Costa Rica: Jaime Coghi ARIAS, DPR



Switzerland: Boris RICHARD, DPR

Singapore: Darryl LEONG, DPR


3.WTO Secretariat

Willy Alfaro, Director, Trade Policies Review Division

Kuiten Bernard, Senior Counsellor on External Relations, WTO


4.International Organizations

Yuvan Beejadhur, World Bank

Aditi Sara Verghese, WEF


5.Think Tanks

William Reinsch, CSIS

Hosuk Lee-Makiyama, ECIPE

Peter Ven den Bossche, WTI



Jennifer Hillman, Georgetown University

Petros Mavroidis, Columbia Law School